Day 1 – Bad driving, the Mafia and Squirrels

It’s time for me to head off into the world and I’m actually a bit upset.

My memories of my send off the night before make it an easier process. But I still feel a little bit shaky. After all, I’ve never gone overseas without my parents there to wave me off. They’re in Africa so they can’t be there. In fact, I don’t think I could even get in touch with them if I tried.

Grandma and Grandad are driving me to the airport, which helps with making me feel better. However, as I’m getting out of the car, it starts to slide down the exit ramp.

poker_face_kindleDX

Grandad forgot to put the handbrake on which is yet another reason why I am terrified to have him still behind the wheel. My brother is still in the car as it starts to roll away and when he gets out, he looks pale and shaken.

My goodbyes are emotional, even though there is no crying involved. It will be a while before I see any of my Australian family again, which has its pro’s and its con’s.

On my flight, I am seated next to an Italian man (35+ years) who starts to tell me his life story. I don’t know why he launches into his entire history *coughalcoholcough* but soon the words tumble out of him. He tells me that he is going to Naples to find his cousin, who has disappeared. The big worry is whether his absence has anything to do with the Mafia, as he has done ‘hits’ for the Napoli Mafia before. None of his family has been able to get in touch with him so they’re worried that he’s died or been abducted. It’s interesting to listen to this fellow but the conversation quickly falls flat and then we are left in silence for the following 7 hours. In that time, I watch Gangster Squad (meh) and Epic (alright, but certainly not epic).

My first stop over is Singapore, which is a strange place. Everything is in English so I am unable to figure out what their native language is. They have some nice decorations and ponds throughout the terminals. They seem to attract a lot of visitors and everyone visibly seems to relax at the sight of it.

P1000159

It is a long stop over but finally I am on my way to Frankfurt.

On the next flight, an Aussie sits next to me, called Timmy. We are instant friends, as he is a pretty nice guy. He is dressed in outfit that I can only describe as being ‘pirate-esq.’ He’s a 27-year-old biologist and is going Germany to stay with his Omar. After that, he is heading to the Arctic Circle to study squirrels, which I am not going to doubt as he had many thick and heavy text books in his knapsack. He reminds me of guy at work that I was good friends with, so I end up mothering him. When we arrive in Frankfurt, he gives me a hug and kiss on the cheek. He’s got a lucky girlfriend, even if he hasn’t seen her for 9 months.

Every time I go overseas, I always underestimate just how far Australia is from everything. There’s still one last leg for me to do until I arrive in London!

Leave a comment